-4

I see in California law that an employer has to give the final paycheck to a terminated employer within 72 hours. I was let go from a part time job where I worked 6 hours a week. I was let go and wasn’t paid my final paycheck until about a month after. Does anyone know if this is legal?

closed as off-topic by gnat, Dukeling, rath, Retired Codger, OldPadawan Jul 30 '18 at 15:35

This question appears to be off-topic. The users who voted to close gave this specific reason:

  • "Questions seeking advice on company-specific regulations, agreements, or policies should be directed to your manager or HR department. Questions that address only a specific company or position are of limited use to future visitors. Questions seeking legal advice should be directed to legal professionals. For more information, click here." – gnat, Dukeling, rath, OldPadawan
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 6
    We are not lawyers. The way you have presented this makes it seem illegal, but we don’t know the facts of the situation or the law(s) in question. Go ask a California lawyer. – Stella Biderman Jul 30 '18 at 5:19
  • Legal or not, what do you hope to gain here? If you want money, that'll probably come down to attaching a monetary value to any losses suffered. Did not having the money significantly affect your life (to the point that a court could justify a 5- or 6-figure payout)? – Dukeling Jul 30 '18 at 6:47
11

At this stage, does it really matter? You've been paid, get the cheque into the bank and move on. The only people who are going to win from you doing anything else are the lawyers.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.